Mrs Annette Arjoon-Martins chairs the committee.

Since the conception of the mangrove action project, a strong Mangrove Action Committee (MAC) has been established. MAC is made up of representatives of all inter-agency stakeholders committed to the restoration and management of mangroves. The function of this Committee is to oversee the progress made towards meeting the goals of the Mangrove Management Action Plan, and indicators for the release of EU funds. Having established its Terms of Reference, the Committee's focus is on maintaining implementation momentum between all agencies.

Annette has vast experience in community development, conservation, enterprise and entrepreneurship. She worked with the Guyana Marine Turtle Conservation Society for over a decade and has contributed to protection of Shell Beach, its mangroves, and Sea Turtles. She has fundraised for several community and youth environmental education projects. Annette also has ecotourism product development and marketing experience which she used successfully for the development of a model community-owned business in the North West.

The committee comprises representatives of 12 governmental agencies namely:

    The Guyana Forestry Commission
    The Sea and River Defence Department, Ministry of Works
    The Environmental Protection Agency
    The Fisheries Department, Ministry of Agriculture
    The National Drainage and Irrigation Board
    The University of Guyana
    The Ministry of Education
    The Ministry of Local Government and Regional Development
    The Ministry of Finance
    The Ministry of Agriculture
    The Guyana Marine Turtle Conservation Society
    The National Agricultural Research Institute (NARI)